Uncategorized

500 Words At A Time: As A Teacher, Part 11

Speaking Out On Life

Pride.

There is something about a student who takes pride in their work that stands out to me. Even if the work is wrong, incorrect, or not up to my standards, a student who is willing to say, “This is my best work or close to my best work,” that gets me to work harder for them. I’m this way with people outside of class as well, make a good faith effort and I will go farther for you than someone who tosses in the towel, does not try, or wants other people to do the work them.

Which is why when confronted with conflicting evidence I get disappointed. I shouldn’t be disappointed, after all these are not my children nor my students, I am an observer with some expertise to share. However, I have seen good and bad work. If I had only seen the bad then I would…

View original post 370 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

